The Light Within

tree

President Thomas S Monson said, “Of the 50 definitions that the dictionary offers on “light,” my favourite definition is “something that illuminates.”

Life is perfect for none of us, and at times the challenges and difficulties we face may become overwhelming, causing our light to dim. However, with help from our Heavenly Father, coupled with support from others, we can regain that light which will illuminate our own path once again and provide the light others may need.

To illustrate, I share with you the touching words of a favorite poem I first read many years ago:

I met a stranger in the night

Whose lamp had ceased to shine.

I paused and let him light

His lamp from mine.

A tempest sprang up later on

And shook the world about.

And when the wind was gone

My lamp was out!

But back to me, the stranger came—

His lamp was glowing fine!

He held the precious flame

And lighted mine!

How reassuring are the Savior’s words: “I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.”

He is our Savior and Redeemer, our Advocate with the Father. He is our Exemplar and our strength. He is “the light which shineth in darkness.”

Sometimes simple things like hard work and gentle smiles can send sunshine to soften the storms we face. Serving others brightens their lives as well as ours.

6 Comments

  1. Thanks. It lifted my spirit today. Frustration arises in me as I continue to share His Word. But God, right? ✝️🙏

    • You’re welcome. I do understand your frustration. As we continue to look to the Savior as our exemplar. He faced tremendous hostility from the beginning of His ministry. When He first preached in the synagogues at Nazareth, some wanted to throw Him off a cliff (Luke 4:28-29). Yet He was not intimidated.

      People throughout the world are drifting further and further away from the teachings of the Lord toward a secular society that the Apostle Paul described:
      For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; And they shall turn away their ears from the truth (2 Timothy 4:3-4)
      Today is the time Paul saw.

      • Thank you so much!💕✝️🙏

  2. Rebecca Campbell

    Hope you’re feeling good love you 😘

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

I would like to hear from you