“Lessons I Learned as a Boy”

President Gordon B. Hinckley: Lesson I Learned as a Boy

Lessons I Learned as a Boy
 
Mike Wallace Gordon B. Hinckley, the venerable and beloved president and world leader of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, was described by veteran 60 Minutes television journalist Mike Wallace as “A genuinely remarkable man, a warm and thoughtful and decent and optismistic leader.”

 

 

President Hinckley“This is not a reformation,” President Hinckley said. “This is a restoration of that church which was set up by the Savior. This is the handiwork of the God of heaven and His Beloved Son.”

President Hinckley was by far the most traveled of the 15 prophets who have led the Church since the restoration in the early 19th century, logging more than 250,000 miles over the years in meeting with, instructing and inspiring Latter-day Saints in dozens of nations. In fact, at the age of 95, he traveled nearly 25,000 miles on a seven-nation, nine-day tour to Vladivostok, Russia; Taipei, Taiwan; Hong Kong, China; Delhi, India; Nairobi, Kenya; Aba, Nigeria; and Seoul, South Korea.

Despite his age, President Hinckley was blessed with a keen mind, good health and incredible energy as he led the global expansion of a faith that, according to U.S. News & World Report, “has sustained the most rapid growth rate of any new faith group in American history.”

“I would enjoy sitting in a rocker … listening to soft music and contemplating the things of the universe,” he once told the Associated Press. “But such activity offers no challenge and makes no contribution.”

Horizontal

President Hinckley was in his late 90s. He arrived at the office early and often left late. He traveled the world at a breathtaking pace and kept up a speaking schedule that would drain the energy of men decades younger.

How wonderful it is to be a member of this great and glorious Church. When I joined the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, friends and family said I had been brain washed, etc.

As I’ve stated before the Holy Ghost revealed to me in a very powerful and undeniable way that the Power of the Priesthood is in this Church; that it is indeed the RESTORED Church of Jesus Christ. It was an experience I cannot deny.

I do not follow blindly in anything pertaining to my membership in this Church. I am a free agent. I am free to choose to pay my tithing, to attend my meetings, to attend the temple and yes, to help clean the chapel 🙂

I desire to have all the blessings in being faithful, in paying my tithe and offerings, in attending my meetings where I am so richly blessed and nourished, in attending the temple. The good feeling in serving, yes, helping clean the chapel.

If I could describe my membership in Christ’s Church I would describe it as thus, it is like a beautiful picture puzzle that now fits together perfectly; completely.

I experience perfect peace, happiness and joy beyond anything that can be explained in words. I am so grateful for living prophets and apostles, these good men who do all in their power to encourage, uplift, and strengthen members. They are humble men full of faith and good works, not proud or arrogant.

I would like to hear from you

