Ogden Utah Temple

Ogden Utah Temple
Hubby and I attended open house for the Ogden Temple this morning. How do I describe that experience? Peaceful.  Spectacular. A sacred and peaceful place. The beauty of the grounds, the new tabernacle and temple were magnificent.

The Ogden temple was closed in April 2011 for extensive renovation.  The temple will be formally rededicated Sunday, September 21, 2014.

The temple’s entire exterior has been reshaped with new stone and art glass, and the temple entrance was moved from the west side to the east side, where it faces Washington Boulevard, one of the city’s main streets.  Other notable improvements include underground parking and a complete relandscaping of the temple block and inclusion of a major water feature.  The Ogden Utah Temple was originally dedicated in 1972.

The Desert Rose
I like the main theme of the Ogden Temple, “The Desert Rose,” also called the pioneer rose.  Isaiah 35:1

One thing have I desired of the Lord, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the Lord, and to inquire in his temple.  Psalms 27:4

Why Mormons Build Temples

After our tour of the temple, we decided to treat ourselves to Farr’s Ice Cream. I am not a lover of ice cream but hubby is. My favorite flavors are Green Pineapple and Cherry Pecan, hubby’s is Chocolate.

Farr
Farr’s first opened their doors in 1920, the best Ice Cream Shop in the world in downtown Ogden.They make over 600 flavors and it appeared that there are nearly 100 available at any one time. Open year round.

Farr's inside
I will have a single dip of Green Pineapple, please.

I would like to hear from you

