Remembering Little Brother

My Baby Brother In Memory of Baby Brother.

No matter how old he became he was always my baby brother.

I do not consider myself a writer, it is difficult for me to express those beautiful feelings I feel inside.

I love poetry but am not a poet. I’ve attempted to write two poems in my life. One was to my baby brother on his birthday. We were working in Fort Bragg, California, when I woke one morning around 4:30 thinking about my brother’s upcoming birthday. I slipped out of bed going into another room and started jotting down my thoughts. A poem to my brother which goes like this:

Fields1943James_0033a Birthday Poem

Mother used to read fiction, biographies, and the Bible to us before going to bed at night. She had just read the Biblical story of David and Goliath when Baby Brother came down with Scarlet Fever. He was admitted into the hospital where he stayed, which seemed like forever to big sis.  Mother told about him becoming delirious talking about David and Goliath, it was touch and go for awhile.

One Christmas morning he ran outside walking around in the fresh snow when all of a sudden he came bounding back in the house and excitedly saying, “I saw Santa’s Reindeer tracks around the house!”

Little Brother and I used to have fun hiking the hills of beautiful Kentucky. Childhood memories. ❤

Sawdust Pile

Huge sawdust pile we enjoyed playing in.

Baby Brother

Enjoying Automotive Class or they appear to be 🙂

Jim & Eva

Baby Brother and friend Eva, she had beautiful red hair. They attended Saturday dances that were televised in the Cincinnati, Ohio area. They usually won dance contests.

I lost my baby brother on Saturday 8 March, 2003 in an Auto accident. His truck hit an embankment and flipped over crushing the top of the cab. The accident occurred in Thousandsticks, Leslie County, Kentucky.

Those we love don’t go away, they walk beside us every day…unseen, unheard, but always near. Still loved, still missed and very dear.

I would like to hear from you

