My Conversion

A Brief Glimpse Into My Conversion Story

Testimony
On my way home from school one day my Uncle Amos called out to me, “Grace when you grow up what do you want to be?” I did not even stop to think about his question. I said, “I want to marry a preacher and have ten kids.” (I was around 8 years old when Uncle Amos asked me that question) I did marry the preacher but I did not have ten children. The Baptists teach they are the only true church. After becoming a student of the Bible I said to myself, “The Baptist are not who they claim to be.”

Ephesians 2:20
Ephesians 4:11
Ephesians 4:11-16
1 Corinthians 12:28

To make a long story short, there were no missionaries, members, or Book of Mormon. I knew nothing about the doctrine of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, I did not know who Joseph Smith was. In my husband’s office he had books on the different so-called “Cults,” but I had never read any of those books.

One day the Spirit spoke to my mind in a very powerful, undeniable way that the power of the priesthood was in the Mormon Church. I was full of fear in knowing what I should do, fearful of approaching my husband. I called different preacher friends asking what they knew about the Mormons, which was a big mistake. They all gave me a warning, “stay away, they’re evil, of all the cults Mormonism is the worst.”

There were times when I felt the walls were literally closing in on me. People I thought were my friends would cross on the other side of the street when they would see me. People telling me I was going to send my kids to hell. Preacher friends traveling from out of state warning me. Relatives saying we worship Joseph Smith instead of Christ, etc. etc.

I have been on both sides and I can say from the depths of my very soul that I know beyond any shadow of a doubt that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is exactly who they claim to be. I do not know why I was chosen but I am ever so grateful. I know that the power of the priesthood has been restored and that the power and authority of those various divine bestowals are among us today; this same priesthood that Christ gave His Apostles when He was on the earth.

My greatest treasure is my testimony borne to me by the Power of the Holy Ghost, this testimony that no one can take from me.

2 Comments

  1. Lola

    This is absolutely beautiful, Grace! Thank you for posting this testimony! Lp

I would like to hear from you

